

Find us online at stjohndublin.org

St. John Lutheran Church and Preschool LCMS 6135 Rings Road, Dublin, Ohio 43016

Adam Steinbrenner, *Pastor*Dehlia DeLeon, *Deaconess*Bonnie Stottlemyer, *Preschool Director*Olivia Connors, *Church Music Director*Kim Shearer, *Church Secretary*Neil Furr, *Property Manager*

Office: 614.889.2284 Fax: 614.760.0412 Preschool: 614.889.5893 Fax: 614.760.0412

June 2020

Dear St. John Family,

These are challenging and uncertain times. As we navigate the days ahead, St. John's leadership and staff continues its work to maintain connections with the congregation while also seeking ways for us to gather together in-person.

While we had hoped to have a Voters' Meeting with the whole congregation, we will not to do so at this time. However, we still need to hold a meeting, and we plan to do so by a different format—an extended voters' meeting.

On Sunday, June 28th, following the 8:30 a.m. and 10:30 a.m. services, the executive director will hold a brief meeting with those in attendance. An audio recording of the meeting will be shared with the congregation via email. Following the meeting, the time to vote will remain open from Sunday, June 28th until June 30th at 4:00 p.m.

There are two matters that require the need to call a meeting with the congregation.

1) The first matter is to hold an election of the Executive Council and the Board of Elders for the upcoming term. The next term begins on July 1st and lasts for two years. Below you will see the list of members who have been nominated to serve in these capacities.

Executive Council

Executive Director – Tracy Roloff*
Assistant Executive Director #1 – Allen Rutz*
Assistant Executive Director #2 – open
Treasurer – Ryan Strong
Financial Secretary – Terri Diesing
Secretary of Congregation – Carly Adams*
Head Elder – Rob Braatz
Trustee – Jim Diesing
Parish Care – Cathy Fernandez*

Youth – Brooke Rausch
Stewardship – Paul Vandermeer*
Fellowship – Corry Rausch & Rebecca
Rhoden as co-chairs
Evangelism/Outreach – Phil Sutton*
Christian Education – Duane Wegener*
Endowment – Ernie Robertson
At Large #1 – Shelly Hasser
At Large #2 – Patrick Carroll

Board of Elders:

Rob Braatz (Head Elder)
Jeremy Adams
Hugo Fernandez*
Tom Jacoby*
Tom Moffitt*
Dave Murphy*

Andy Pitonyak*
Tony Reedy
Carl Scheiderer
Kevin Schmidt*
Bob Skoog*
Jonathan Wegener

[*denotes incumbent/returning to position]

While we are excited for the leadership and support of the upcoming Executive Council and Board of Elders, we also want to acknowledge and extend our thanks to those who will be stepping out of their positions at the conclusion of this term.

Robb & Tracy Augustine (Youth Co-Chairs) John Boerger (Assistant Executive Director) Heidi Braatz (Fellowship Chair) Melissa Carpenter (Member at Large) Hugo Fernandez (Head Elder) T.J. Gerckens (Elder) Renee Hoschak (Treasurer) Jason Pollo (Financial Secretary) Rachel Scipio (Member at Large) Robert Shenton (Endowment)

St. John has been blessed by the strong, thoughtful, and Christ-centered congregational leadership of these members, and we thank them for their service over the past term.

2) The second matter requiring a vote involves a request by the Ohio District of the Lutheran Church Missouri Synod. The district has asked its congregations to review and amend wording regarding the dissolution and final allocation of assets should a congregation close. While such a topic is not pleasant to consider, the district sees the prudence for congregations to have this discussion and ensure that a plan is in place. Below you will find the proposed wording that has been approved by the Executive Council for the congregation to consider and approve.

ARTICLE 8: PROPERTY RIGHTS

If, at any time, a <u>division or</u> separation should take place within this congregation, the advice of the officers of the District and Synod shall be sought. If, despite all efforts to compose differences in peace and love, a division into factions of the congregation shall occur, the property of the congregation and all benefits therewith connected shall remain with those <u>communicant</u> members who continue to adhere in confession and practice to Articles 2, 3, 4 and 6 of this Constitution.

In the event that the congregation dissolves, all property shall be disposed of by the final voters assembly for the payment of debts and all just claims against the congregation, and any and all surplus and all rights connected therewith shall either be (i) conveyed to and become the property of the Ohio District of The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod, or (ii) donated to the religious or charitable organizations, 501(c)(3), as determined by the final voters' assembly.

The wording amends Article 8: Property Rights of St. John's constitution and by-laws. Please note that the underlined text denotes the wording that will be added to the current wording of Article 8. (i.e. No wording was deleted from the current Article 8.)

How will members vote?

Members who wish to vote are able to do so in one of two ways:

- Members who attend services on Sunday, June 28th will be able to vote by paper ballot.
- Members who do not attend Sunday services may come to St. John and vote by paper ballot on Monday-Tuesday (June 29th-30th) during business hours.

Voting will close at 4 p.m. on Tuesday, June 30th. Voting by proxy or absentee ballot is not permitted.

Thank you for your ongoing support and encouragement during these challenging and uncertain times. Thankfully, no matter the instability of the world around us, we will always have solid footing at the cross of our Savior Jesus.

Your brothers in Christ,

Tracy Roloff – Executive Director

In May

Pastor Adam Steinbrenner

Rev. St. Str.